Birthday Week

13 Oct

I still get pretty excited about my birthday. I like to have a party, and I have a personal tradition called ‘Birthday Week’, where in the week leading up to my birthday I feel more positive, cut myself more slack, and eat more cake than usual because it’s my birthday week!

I was a little bummed this year, because my BFF Liz was going to be out of town on my birthday weekend (this weekend) for her sister’s wedding. I mean, I know she has a good excuse and everything but COME ON. It is just not a party without her. I was also a little worried, because despite the fact that I had asked David to be in charge of my birthday party dropped some hints about a birthday party, no plans seemed to be progressing.

ANYWAY, this lead up is just to let you know my state of mind on Friday. Liz and I, and another friend went to a First Friday event earlier in the evening, and then we were going to meet up with David and hang out. When I talked to David, he said he wanted to go to another friend’s Tim’s house. I had been thinking we’d hang out at our place, so of course I took this in stride and was a huge whiny baby.

“Noooo..” I whined, like a child might. “I want to stay heeeereee…” This was totally unreasonable, because Tim has a sick house and he and his girlfriend are really fun to hang out with, but I can be a pretty unreasonable person. Everyone ignored me, and we went separately to Tim’s.

 

IT WAS A FRIGGIN SURPRISE PARTY!!

You guys, I was so totally blown away. I actually screamed a little, because it’s really shocking to walk through a door and have a bunch of people yell ‘surprise!’/shoot silly string and poppers at you, but it was so awesome. Almost all of my friends were there, and there was amazing food and drink, and we played games and wore party hats, and I was just so, so happy. That party was one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me,  and it made me feel so lucky to have all these people in my life that I just genuinely really like. I’m also quite impressed, and a little scared, that David and Liz made it happen and actually surprised me. I mean, not to brag but I am very observant and also kind of nosy, so the fact that they were able to get me is brilliant. AND  they remembered that I really like surprise parties.

So, this party basically made my month, and I have been in the best mood all week because of it. It is right up there with my 21st birthday party (aka my birthday I was the most excited for) and my 6th birthday party (we lived in Florida, and it was a pool party, and I had a Snow White cake for like the 3rd year in a row. It was the best.) I’m not really sure how to end this post, and I’m ready to eat a piece of cake now, so I think I will just end it by saying again how thankful I am for such wonderful friends. I can’t wait until it’s your birthdays, guys. I am so ready to scare the crap out of you and then give you some cake.

Leave a Reply

