Freelance: Month 3

12 Oct

Well, gosh. The months are just flying by, aren’t they? Freelancing is definitely the most intense thing I have ever done. I feel simultaneously exhilarated and overwhelmed, and a lot of what I said last month is still true, but I’m finally starting to feel like I am beginning to get a handle on things. (Although obviously not as much as I hoped, as I was relaxing on the couch when I suddenly remembered that I hadn’t posted to my blog today..) I’m finally getting a project management system in place, which, to repeat myself, is INTENSE. Mostly because freelancing is like this mixture of having to be super rigid in my schedule, or else I won’t get anything done, and also having to be flexible for when a client calls with a last-minute whatever, and I need to be available.

Overall, I feel like I’m on the right trajectory. I’m building relationships, I am learning how to deal with the more frustrating aspects of my job, and I am even beginning to plan ahead, and think about the future. I admit, my version of the future at this point is next week, but I’m baby stepping my way into it, okay?

 

My Goals for Month 3

+ Finish website redesign.  I did that! I’m so proud of me! Now I just have to finish uploading all of my content, and get my blog redesign up. But for now, let’s just bask in the fact that I did in fact finish my website redesign.

+ Talk to an accountant? :/ NOPE! I can keep putting this one off forever, right?

+ Document and showcase some of the projects that I have completed recently.  I so did this! Some of these projects are in fact going to be featured on other blogs. Stay tuned.

+  Get dressed in the mornings. I’m crossing this off the list because I do get dressed almost every day. And on the days that I don’t, it’s because I really don’t want to, and isn’t that what freelancing is all about anyway? Doin what you please? (hahahahano)

 

My Goals for Month 4

+ Better separate work life from home life. Poor David usually has to come home and listen to this giant speech about how my day went. Sometimes I can discuss my work life from the moment I see him until the moment he goes to sleep, just about. While some venting and sharing is good, I really don’t think that this stuff should be on my mind from the moment I wake up until the moment I go to bed. I should, you know, develop other interests and not be in a work mindset when I’m not actually working.

+ Create my marketing ‘team’. This maybe sounds crazy, but I wrote up job descriptions for the people I would hire if I actually had money to hire people…? Since I am trying to do all the jobs, I wanted to define them a little better, so I can structure my day around the things I need to do. So like, for 15 minutes in the morning, and 15 minutes in the evening, I put on my ‘office manager’ hat, and work on invoicing, and responding/sorting emails, and organizing my life, and that sort of thing. I also created a marketing person position, and then promptly blow that position off every time my little calendar alarm alerts that it’s marketing time. It’s really important that I stop doing that, and it won’t take that much time once I get the ball rolling, so.. Here is my official call to stop procrastinating on this.

+ Start working on personal projects that help me develop skills. I always admire people who do something every day, like the daily drop cap, or the branding 10,00 lakes project. I think it’s an awesome way to build a skill, and sharpen your creativity. I think doing something like that could be a great creative habit to establish, and also help me work on areas where I think I could be better. Of course, it would be fun to share my progress with everyone as well.

Keeping the goals simple worked last month, so I’m going to go with that. Stay tuned for tomorrow, when I explain my concept of Birthday Week!

 

My Freelance Life:

Day 1

Month 1

Month 2

4 Responses to “Freelance: Month 3”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Freelance: Month 4 « lovecitron - November 8, 2011

    […] Month 3 GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "ffc1c1"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "7a7a7a"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "c40000"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "bd2828"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "freelance"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Freelance: Month 4 – Alison's Blog - November 9, 2011

    […] Month 3 […]

  3. Freelance, Month 8 – Alison's Blog - March 9, 2012

    […] One | Month 1 | Month 2 | Month 3 | Month 4 | Month 5 | Month 6 | Month […]

  4. Freelance, Month 11 – Alison's Blog - June 11, 2012

    […] 1 | Month 1 | Month 2 | Month 3 | Month 4 | Month 5 | Month 6 | Month 7 | Month 8 | Month […]

Leave a Reply

