Thanks, Steve

6 Oct

I think I mentioned a couple weeks ago that Steve Jobs is one of my dad’s favorite people. So yesterday, when David and I arrived at my parents’ house for dinner, a pall was cast over the evening as we learned of his passing.

Apple has always been a part of my life. I remember the excitement of opening up the blue iMac, my dad letting me set it up just to prove that it really was that easy. (I was not the most technically minded child.)

My blue briefcase laptop  is still probably my favorite computer of all time. I used it to do my homework, and write stories, and it was so durable that it held up through multiple instances of being accidentally slammed into doorframes, and my brother sitting on it.

In my house, it was always an exciting day when Apple announced a new product, and we had a rotating inventory of new, shiny things to admire. In fact, I just told my dad the other day that Steve (we called him Steve in our house) had finally gotten to me, and I really wanted an iPad, despite having absolutely no need for one.

I’ve never thought about Steve Jobs the person very much, but for most of my life, one of his products has never been far from my reach. He created beautiful and functional objects that made the world a better place, and he was constantly raising the bar.

The world feels less creative without him in it, but I feel grateful to live in the world that he changed, using a phone that he revolutionized, and able to follow my dreams because of his computers.

 

“We don’t get a chance to do that many things, and every one should be really excellent. Because this is our life. Life is brief, and then you die, you know? And we’ve all chosen to do this with our lives. So it better be damn good. It better be worth it.” – Steve Jobs

 

One Response to “Thanks, Steve”

  1. MacMan October 7, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Beautifully done. Thank you…

Leave a Reply

