A Nice Thing, Now

4 Oct

I am very (veryveryvery) excited to link you to my first giveaway! I love Nice Things Now, and I’ve been reading Leah’s personal blog for years, so I feel like we are friends (albeit one – sided friends, since I’ve commented like, once.) She gave me a suuper nice writeup, and I have just been smiling and feeling good! So good that I’m writing two blog posts in one day. So, if you are new to my blog from NTN, hello!

I wanted to take this as an opportunity to write about why I do what I do. My views on graphic design are constantly changing and growing, and I’m finally feeling like I am realizing the direction I want my design life to take. I’ll be honest – in school, we were kind of snobs about invitation and stationery designers. I did not consider that ‘real’ design, and to be honest, sometimes I felt a little ashamed that I had an online stationery shop. Like I was selling out, or not pushing myself to my full capacity.

Which is ridiculous, of course.

I have come to realize that I love designing and making stationery. I love it as much as I love the other areas of graphic design. I feel happy and fulfilled when I’m working on cards, even though they’re ‘just’ cards. Even more importantly, I’ve realized why I love it. I want to facilitate connections. Graphic design is about communication, but it can and should also be about bringing people together.  I think that’s why I’ve never been able to muster up much interest for corporate design. I want to make things that are creative, inspiring, and exciting, and not necessarily just furthering a brand. I want to inspire people to reach out to other people, and make a connection. When someone buys a card that I’ve made, it’s exciting because it’s a form of validation, but it’s much more exciting to package that card up, imagine my customer receiving it, and then sending it on to someone else, who probably has never seen it before. It makes my day when I receive a personal piece of mail, and I know that isn’t something that’s unique to me. I like to think that I am helping people strengthen their friendships – or making new friendships – one piece of mail at a time.

This is something I want to bring even more into my design life. I want to take on projects that in some way inspire people to connect. Perhaps that’s designing posters or invitations for an event, maybe it’s designing the packaging for a  tool that will introduce people to a creative community they knew nothing about. Maybe it’s just inspiring people to comment on my blog and connect with me. It doesn’t matter how big or small, but the element of connection has to be there. This is why I design.

Leave a Reply

