Hallo-WHEN?

27 Sep

Halloween is just around the corner! If just around the corner means a month from now. I have been more excited about Halloween and autumn in general this year than I have been in quite some time. I think it can be partially attributed to the fact that for the first time in two years this changing season is not a brutal reminder that time is marching onward and I am still nowhere close to achieving my goals. I always expect a lot of change and growth over the summer – mostly because I always had big plans for my summer break – but this year there actually was change and growth, and I’m happy with how things are turning out.

As I mentioned earlier, one of my goals moving forward is to do all the things I talk about wanting to do. Autumn is a prime time to make good on that goal. So many exciting things happen in the fall – it suddenly gets really beautiful outside, the fair comes through town, it’s my birthday, there are fun activities to do like visiting pumpkin patches, apple picking, and corn mazes ( I SO want to do a corn maze), Halloween parties, and Thanksgiving.

Keeping that in mind, I realized I was crazy when I thought about not making any Halloween cards for my shop. What was I thinking? I’m talking about seizing the moment and doing all the things I talk about doing, and at the first sign of work I just give up? Who am I, anyway? So I decided to give it a shot, and I’m so glad that I did. I’ve been feeling a little (okay, a lot) stressed and crazed lately, and this was a lovely moment of peace during a time that’s had more than its fair share of self doubt and anxiety. I felt joyful when I was making these, and it reminded me why I got into this profession in the first place. It’s for the pure, unadulterated happiness I feel when I’m creating something. So often I lose sight of that, and sometimes it takes something silly like making Halloween cards on a Saturday night to bring it back.

Not only am I pleased with how they turned out, but I’m also delighted with my product photography. I have talked before about how my dad takes photos for me, and I think we are getting better every time. These are definitely the best photos I have yet. They are exactly what I was envisioning, in that they are clear, they feel seasonal, and the background is interesting but doesn’t take away from the product. Thanks Dad!

 

 

 

 

You can visit Love Citron here. I have a couple more designs that I will be releasing over the next couple of days, so be sure to check back!

 

 

Leave a Reply

