Inspirational?

12 Sep

I’ve noticed that a popular topic seems to be where creative people get their ideas from. I think this is because most creative people have no idea where their ideas come from, and when they’re feeling creatively blah, they ask the internet to solve their problem, and the internet is like, I don’t know? Go outside maybe?

Seriously, that’s the number one piece of advice in my brief and unscientific survey. Go take a walk. While that’s pretty good advice, it’s really boring, as it is also considered the solution to things like sluggishness, being angry, and vitamin D deficiency.

I feel a lot more pressure to be creative now. I want to constantly be churning out quality things for my shop, making each project I take on the best thing I ever made, and coming up with cool things to make and do in my spare time so I can blog about it. I wouldn’t say it’s necessarily a bad thing – I enjoy making things for my shop, I can’t give my clients work I’m not proud of, and if I didn’t feel the need to do fun and interesting things I would literally sit on the couch and watch Arrested Development re-runs until my skin grafted to the sofa fabric, and I thought I was a Bluth, too.

However, since I feel the need to be so creatively ‘on’ all the time, I’ve been figuring out what does, and doesn’t work for me.

Walking around outside usually doesn’t work.

I need a full night’s sleep. I’m saying this fresh off a night full of nightmares/my dog waking me up, and let me tell you. I am about a dumb as a bag of rocks right now. Even writing this blog post is 12 times harder than it normally is.

I schedule enough flexibility so that I can make the most of the times when I’m feeling creative, and if I’m having a particularly bad day, I can work on something non-creative, like billing!

Watching my dog sleep is very endorphins boosting. Go stare at your pet!

Read The Creative Habit, by Twyla Tharp. She talks about her process, and provides exercises to get out of a creative rut. It’s massively inspiring.

Yoga. A lot of good ideas come in savasana.

I do something I hate. If I’m scrubbing a toilet, or running, or mopping floors, I inevitably get a good idea. I don’t know why, but there you go.

What do you do when you’re stuck for ideas?

Leave a Reply

