Taking Things Slow

31 Aug

This has been a slow week for me so far. A combination of finishing some things up, and just getting going on some other things has resulted in something of a lull for me, and I have to say I can’t complain. There is a special kind of stress that comes with not having a steady paycheck, and going into this I knew that I wanted to avoid the common complaint of freelancers working all the time. Don’t get me wrong, if I am in the depths of a project, and on a roll, there’s nothing I’d rather be doing than working late to capitalize on that designer’s high, but I don’t want to default all of my free time to working (or staring at the computer feeling like I’m working, while actually not getting much done at all) and end up burnt out and stressed.

That’s why I haven’t worried about my weird lull week. It’s the last week of summer, for all intents and purposes. The pool is closing soon, there’s a chill in the air in the mornings, and the back to school section at Target is being replaced with Halloween stuff. I’ll be excited about fall soon – and next week it is back to nose to the grindstone, all cylinders firing as usual – but this week I am soaking up the last bit of summer, getting my stuff done in the mornings, lazing by the pool in the afternoons, and appreciating the flexibility this lifestyle is giving me.

Leave a Reply

