HurriCRAFTS

29 Aug

My interest in the weather was much higher than usual this weekend. As the hurricane made its way up the coast, we expected the worst, (we even made a hurricane survival box) but actually we were lucky and only got a lot of rain and some wind.

Because of the weather, I basically didn’t leave my apartment all weekend. That would have been relaxing and great, except I had spent a lot of time at my apartment last week, and I had nothing to do. I’m an all or nothing kind of girl, and if I’m not up to my eyeballs in some sort of project, I’m usually relaxing pretty hardcore. But by day two of my  stay-inside-watch-tv-don’t-do-anything weekend, I was going a little stir crazy, and I decided that I need a hobby. There are a lot of skills I want to learn, and my interests are pretty varied, but I need something to do with my hands that doesn’t take my full concentration (so I can talk to David, or watch TV, or whatever) and isn’t messy or expensive.

My mom has been telling me for years that I should take up knitting. I used to be into it, but there are only so many scarves a girl can make before she has enough scarves, you know what I’m saying? Any time she would mention that, I would be like oh Mom, you obviously have no idea what my interests are. I am way too cool for knitting.

Mom, I would like to formally apologize to you because this weekend, when I was bleaching my bathtub because I had run out of things to do, I realized something. I can knit a lot cooler things than scarves. I found this blanket

 

Via April & May

 

on the internet, and it opened my eyes to a whole new world of interior products that I can make myself. I literally spent 30 minutes standing in front of the Peaches and Cream yarn section in Wal Mart at 10 PM last night trying to figure out a good color combination for a project. I was initially going to make the above blanket, but I couldn’t find the colors I wanted, and if I am going to be making a freaking bedspread, I’m not settling on the colors. Instead, I’m making a blue striped throw. I worked on it for a while last night, and let me tell you I slept like a baby. David and I stayed up till 2 in the morning watching Seinfeld and working on projects like the nerds we are, but we didn’t even notice. Also, David forgot that today was Monday so I think that had something to do with his willingness to skip his bedtime.

Anyway, I was looking around on the internet today, and I found some great projects that I’d like to try.

+ Zig Zag pattern This color combination is not my style, but I think it would look really nice and textural in just a soft white or grey.

+ Stars and Stripes Trivets I need more trivets.

+ Striped Baby Blanket This would look nice on my couch, twice as big.

+ Fruity Trivets

+ Giant Granny Square Blanket I’m undecided if this would be cute or not. The pattern reminds me of those big acrylic blankets, but I’m thinking in a grey/lime color combination it could look pretty sweet.

+ Home Sweet Home Pillow This is ingenious.

+ Granny Bedspread You guys. This bedspread pattern was made for me. I am going to make it, it is going to go on my bed, and it is going to blow your mind.

What do you like to do in your spare time? Do you, like me, have specific hobby needs? I like knitting/crocheting because it’s something I can do without feeling like I’m sacrificing hang-out time with David.

 

One Response to “HurriCRAFTS”

  1. Kathleen August 29, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I am so happy you have rediscovered the joy of needlework. I love the patterns your referenced, especially the stars and stripes pot holders.

Leave a Reply

