In Another Life

10 Aug

I was at a job interview a while back, and one of the questions they asked me was: what would I be if I wasn’t a graphic designer. This kind of threw me. I really like being a designer, so I haven’t put any thought into other career paths. I still need to be successful at this one, as evidenced by the fact that I’m at a JOB INTERVIEW.

Anyway, I said something about being a chef, which is crap because even though I like to cook and I am pretty preoccupied with food, I would never want to do that forever. The question remained on my mind, even after the interview process was over. It’s strange to think about the other things you could do. Graphic design has defined my life for so long. However, I have finally reached a decision.

I would totally be an advice columnist. I can’t believe it wasn’t the first thing to come to my mind! I love reading advice columns! I always read Ann Landers in the paper growing up (right after I finished the comics), and even now I read a couple of online advice columns. I love hearing about people’s weird problems, and my bossy side would love telling them exactly what to do. Side note: Yesterday I was working in a coffee shop, and this couple came in and had a pretty loud, and long conversation about the state of their deteriorating relationship. I really wanted to pull up a chair and help them work through it, but I don’t think they would have appreciated my wisdom.

I always find myself wanting to give advice in my everyday life, which is a problem. Everyone knows unsolicited advice is the worst. But I think if I was an advice columnist, I’d get my fix, and my friends would thank me!

Leave a Reply

