I’m Home!

19 Jul

For good this time. As much as I would like to travel the world, the truth of it is that I am a huge homebody. I think you have to be to even consider working from home. I was so happy to get back last night, and see my dog (he was pretty psyched too – he did this wheezing cough thing I’d never heard before..) and make dinner with David and sit on the couch and be boring for a change.  Of course, since I was visiting my family (and their beautiful homes) I came back with a renewed inspiration for decorating, but I thought today I’d share a few snaps of my favorite parts of my home – as they usually are.

This is one of the very few frames that actually have a photo in them. I love this picture because it was my first white Christmas – and my first Christmas with Caspian! We went on a walk in the snow, and I left him off leash for the first (and only) time, and he loved it! He was so bouncy. It was great, until he ran away after some deer and disappeared for a good 10 minutes. Oh, dogs. Full of surprises.

David and I have a very well stocked bar, something that just sort of happened when he moved in. My favorite part of the whole thing, however, is the shot glass full of paper umbrellas. They are so unnecessary – and so fun to include in a drink!

I found these letterpress blocks at the flea market one day, and I just love them.

I am proudest of my bookshelves. We have a TON of books, so I really had to pack them into our limited shelf space. I think they are interesting and beautiful to look at, and even though nobody else ever notices the way they are stacked, it makes me smile every time I sit on the couch.

I’ve had this lamp for years and I still love it. I also love how one night our friends decided to mix things up in the empty picture frames, and this is the result. I should really put some pictures in these frames.

This is a picture of my brother that I found when I was cleaning out a closet. He was so darn cute, I had to put it up!

There can be something really beautiful in the draping of an unmade bed.

Leave a Reply

