Onward…

30 Jun

Today was my last day at my job. I have often imagined this day, as I graduated college, went to job interviews, and made plans for my future, but as I walked out of those doors for the last time, it felt exactly the same as the other hundreds of days I made the same trek to my car.

I spent a lot of time at that job being angry that my job search wasn’t going as planned, missing school, and wishing that I didn’t have to work on campus, where all the stupid students rubbed it in my face that they still got to attend class and have awesome flexible schedules. I thought when it was finally my turn to move on, I would be happy and skip out the door without even looking back, but today I found that to not be the case.

I learned some valuable lessons at my job. I became a better designer, I had my first taste of the corporate lifestyle, I was able to specify more clearly what I do and don’t want in my career, and most importantly I was working in a community of people who were kind and supportive. When it was time for me to go, they made sure I knew how much they appreciated my contributions, and that means a lot to me. Sure, this past year and a half has had its frustrations, but overall it could have been much worse, and I am so thankful to be leaving with friends, and good references.

I feel like I’m living someone else’s life right now, because right now I am actually procrastinating on packing, and I’m heading out of town again. And then, who knows? For the first time in my life, I have no idea where I’m going or what I’m doing, and while it’s scary, mostly what I feel is excitement. I have faith that it’s going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

