Everyday Design – Wine Edition

28 Jun

It’s funny to me that I used to not like wine. When I was little, I would imagine that wine was basically grape juice for adults, and I would constantly be surprised and disappointed when my parents let me take a tiny sip and it was not sweet and delicious.

Fast forward 13 years, and even though in my heart I wish that I was rich enough to drink exclusively icewine, which tastes like wine the way I imagined it as a child, I am perfectly content to enjoy a lovely glass of red wine from time to time.

When it comes to choosing what to buy, I choose exclusively by the label. There are a lot of cool labels when it comes to more expensive wine, but more affordable bottles usually have boring labels. So I was pretty excited to pick this little beauty up at the Fresh Market.

Let’s start with the cork.

Isn’t this cool! I love clever logos, and while I usually prefer real cork, I like the treatment of this synthetic cork. The little details always get me, and while an awesome cork seems like a minor thing, it made opening this bottle special.

This bottle is stunning. It showcases the aforementioned logo, it visually breaks free of the tyranny of having to have a square label on a bottle, but there IS a square label on it, so it doesn’t use any expensive printing methods, and overall it is very classy looking.

The back of the label is also nice. I have a soft spot for definitions, so I may be biased.

Once you start looking, there are many beautiful, accessible, humble artifacts of design. You just need to keep your eyes open. I suggest starting at the Fresh Market. But beware, they like to display candy and desserts at every corner at eye level, so it takes a lot of self discipline to get through there without picking up a giant lollipop or a chocolate cake…

Leave a Reply

