Springing Forward

6 Apr

I’m not sure if it’s something in the air, but it seems to me that lately people have been propelling themselves out of this holding pattern we post-college, pre-‘adult life’, and getting themselves into more sustainable situations. I don’t mean sustainable in the green sense, rather I mean scenarios that have the potential to grow and evolve into a life that suits someone just right.

College, and high school, were both very abrupt and dramatic ways of life. However you felt about something, chances were by the end of the semester it would end, or be radically changed. College ending (without a job) for me, felt like being hustled out into the world before I was exactly ready. I’ve spent the past year trying a lot of things, and I have finally settled upon a plan that not only seems achievable but fits in well with what I want to do with my life.

I’m very excited to have come up with a plan for myself that not only involves me doing what I love to do (design) for a living, but also involves relying on myself, and building up something for myself. It will take some hard work to get there, but I’m excited, and ready.

There’s just one more thing that I need to do before I can transition from where I am now, to where I want to be. I know I am talking in really vague terms, but I don’t want to jinx/reveal anything before it’s the right time!

The point of this post is that I am so, so ready to take that next step. I am excited to spend some time just working, living, and being, not whining, planning, and regretting. I’ve spent a lot of time unhappy with my situation, and it’s so very exciting to be on the brink of a much more satisfying life. It feels like I’ve spent the past year spinning my wheels, which as you might imagine is pretty frustrating. I’m excited to kick that feeling to the curb, but I also want to slow down a little. I want to reflect on what I’m doing, and make every day enjoyable.

I can see some big changes on the horizon, and I’m so ready!

One Response to “Springing Forward”

  1. Shelley April 8, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I can totally relate to this, thanks for sharing. Good for you for taking things into your own hands!

Leave a Reply

