Dining Room – After/During!

29 Mar

I don’t think calling these things an ‘after’ is technically correct, since like I said before they are still very much in progress. Also in progress are my photography skills! Taking pictures of your house is hard, yo. Last week, I spent about an hour shooting, and came up with very few usable pics. I would be tempted to blame my camera, since it seems to be slowly dying, but I think it is also attributable to my lack of camera knowledge and poor lighting.

Well, now that you know that, I think it’s time for you to see my ‘new’ dining room!

BEFORE

You know, what’s crazy is I didn’t think it looked THAT bad. I liked how nice and long the table was, and how it was close to the window.

This room also had to function as my ‘office’. It was a pretty good space to work in, I will say, but I never had enough room on my desk, and if I wanted to do anything handmade, it had to spill over onto the kitchen table. I felt like a theme for this room was ‘where you put things that have no home.’ There was always something on the table that didn’t belong, and my desk was constantly piled up with things that I needed, but had no home.

There was also this bar/bookshelf thing that was nice, but (say it with me) served as a clutter catcher. It was something of a random addition to a room that was already serving too many purposes.

AFTER(DURING)

Ahh… I like this so much better! It’s amazing how open and airy the room feels, even though we actually took away space with the remodel (more on that later, once I get some good pictures!) I took some leaves out of the kitchen table and put it in the corner. It is not necessary to have it big for workspace any more, and David and I usually eat on the couch anyway, so a big table didn’t make sense. I do want to swag up the chandelier at some point, since people keep hitting their heads on it, and it will make the arrangement look more natural. I also have dreams of leaning a big mirror against the wall behind the chair, to bounce off some more light and add another big piece to the room. I also have dreams of finding another rug to layer over the one we have already. Another thing I’d like to do is add cafe curtains to the window. You can’t see them here, but we have these wooden slat shades, which are super heavy and dusty and block more light than you would believe. I think adding curtains around the apartment will also really soften up the hard corners minimalist thing I have going on now.

I like having the piano in this room. It has a lot of visual weight, and even though I’ve moved it around a couple times, it never felt like it fit in anywhere. It felt too big and brown for my apartment, which was sad because I like music, and I like to play piano! I feel like it’s finally found its home. The walls behind it and next to it are bare, bare, bare, and while I like how clean it looks, I also really want to get something up on those walls! I’m thinking some bigger scale art piece that’s soft and neutral colored, so it doesn’t draw too much attention. Really large scale snowy photography perhaps? Or maybe misty trees? I know my dad has some stuff like that, maybe he will give me a big print for my birthday (or my half birthday, which is much closer.. hint hint!!)

I love this grouping. My family has so many amazing old photos, and they just make me smile! I love the little print of my mom in her nurse’s uniform, and I think it looks great next to the photos of my grandparents. I think they were so stylish, and it cracks me up that they never looked at the camera! (gotta avoid that glasses glare). It’s my goal to fill our home with photos of our loved ones, and especially old photos of our loved ones. I know David’s family has some great ones too, and I can’t wait to get more of them up!

I have this struggle to make things clean and minimalist looking in my house. I love how peaceful that can be – but I also love to group photos and art together in collections on the wall. If I’m not careful, my apartment can look cluttered even when everything’s put away, which I hate. The public spaces are basically one big room, so I have to be especially careful, which is why I am so proud of my solution. I put collections on walls that you can only see from a specific angle, which means that in general, everything is calm and clean and peaceful, but I still get to enjoy my collections. This is the breakfast nook, which features art done by my mom. My favorite is the pomegranate, which she decided to paint after she saw something similar in the kitchen on Modern Family. Food is really important to me, and I like that I can celebrate that with the art on my walls.

 

 

Leave a Reply

