Keep Your Chin Up!

23 Mar

I have been feeling a little discouraged lately. It’s nothing too serious, I just haven’t been feeling particularly motivated. Even though I have been taking a lot of small steps toward achieving my goals, I’ve felt like I’m spinning my wheels. I think this is partially because I’m an impatient person, and once I decide I want something to happen, I want it to happen immediately if not sooner, and obviously building a career is not that easy.

I have also been looking at some of the amazing work that the internet has been showing me lately, and feeling like I will never achieve that. Again, that’s not really fair to myself, since I don’t have the years of experience/fancy printing techniques available to me that some designers do, and I can never look at what I’m doing objectively enough to NOT see every tiny imperfection. I think once you have looked at something for hours on end, you can’t possibly have a clear opinion on it, whether you are in love with it or you just see how it could be better.

I think part of this vague discouragement is the changing of the seasons, which reminds me how quickly time passes by (it’s already been almost a year since I graduated college!). Either way, it will not do, so I thought of some things that would cheer me up.

  • Thinking about how summer is coming soon, and I will be going to the beach at least twice.
  • Snuggling with my dog. He smells like corn chips sometimes, but he’s nice and warm and doesn’t mind when I use his shoulder as a pillow.
  • Looking at my herbs. I tried planting seeds this year (more on that later) and it is very rewarding to see that I haven’t killed them yet, and in fact some are even sprouting!
  • Watching Arrested Development. I know I am a couple of years late to the party, but I am watching it now, and I love it.
  • Going to the gym. There is just something about it that I love. I like the weight machines area especially, because it’s like when I was a little kid, and I would get to a new playground, and just be totally amazed at how many different jungle gyms there were, and I couldn’t wait to try them all. I also like when I’m finished, and how accomplished I feel.
  • Learning a new skill. I decided recently I wanted to put some watercolor things in my Etsy shop, but first I had to learn how to properly watercolor! I’ve been experimenting, and let me tell you, it is so fun to do something artsy without any real goals, just experimenting..

What do you like to do when you are feeling like you’re spinning your wheels?

Leave a Reply

