Freelance: Month 4

8 Nov

I’ll be honest, I didn’t realize it was time for my monthly check-in post until I looked at a calendar. I’ve been feeling really tired and kind of crazed – last night my evening was derailed by having to give Caspian a flea bath and steam mop my apartment, which is satisfying and fun in its own way, but also NOT what I was planning to accomplish.

I think overall this is the first time that I can definitively say that I am in a better place this month than I was last month. I guess every day I continue to do this is progress, as I’m moving forward, but this month I have actual things to show for my work, including paychecks and completed projects. I can feel my skill set growing, and I’ve consistently been in a better mood.

I am learning that time management is always going to be something of a struggle. I consistently underestimate how long something will take me.  I also have a tendency to drop everything and attend to an email, or client request, or phone call as soon as I receive it.  It’s okay if someone waits an hour to hear back from me. It’s okay to turn off my email, and silence my phone. It’s okay to want to stick to my original plan for how my day should go. Most of it can wait, and if it can’t, I am the one who can decide if it’s worth it.

I think the next couple of months are going to be fun. Now that I feel like I have some experience in how unpredictable this can be, I’m looking forward to the adventure.

My Goals for Month 4

+ Better separate work life from home life. I guess you’d really have to ask David if you wanted to know for sure, but I think I’ve been doing better. We have definitely been having more conversations about things other than work, and I’ve been focusing on a lot of other, non work things, as well.

+ Create my marketing ‘team’. This was actually a really good idea on my part. I bought a marketing workbook, which sounds kind of nerdy but was exactly what I needed in order to get started. I’ve kind of stalled out on that because there are a couple things I reeeallly need to finish before I can go any further. It’s frustrating, but also good, because if I was all done with that it would mean I didn’t have any outside work coming in!

+ Start working on personal projects that help me develop skills. 

 

My Goals for Month 5

+  Be more aggressive about scheduling my time. This carries over from what I was saying earlier. I need to stop letting every interruption derail my day.

+ PLAN BETTER!  Some things you can’t plan, of course, but I want to have a plan for how my next year is going to go, and I want to actually stick to it.

+ Finish the things I’ve been working on forever, and move on to step two. This includes actually finishing my website, blog, updating my portfolio, and getting in touch with people whose projects I sort of on-and-off work on.

 

 

My Freelance Life:

Day 1

Month 1

Month 2

Month 3

2 Responses to “Freelance: Month 4”

  1. agirlandaboy November 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Congrats on making it to Month 5! I’ve been working from home for almost two years now and still find time management really, really challenging. (It’s hard to do the boring/hard stuff when I can do the fun stuff instead!) I hope you find your groove soon. :)

    • Alison November 8, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles with this. Sometimes, I wish there was a service where someone would come to your house, sit right next to you, and make judgmental comments when you got off track. I think it would be very effective.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

